June 28, 2017

Release Details

1.  Custom Permissions 

Files now supports more granular permissions that can be applied to files and folders in the app. There are now two composite permissions: Edit and View; and seven custom permissions: Create/Upload folder, Rename, Upload files, Download, Preview, Browse, and Delete. The permission you have to a given file or folder depends upon how you gained access to it. You can apply custom permission to content that resides on nodes running Aspera Enterprise Server v3.7.4 or higher. 

2.  Node Backup and Restore for Database Migration

The Files Help Center now presents a procedure to back up and restore the node database in the context of migrating Files data from one node to another. You can adapt this procedure for a non-migration scenario. 

3.  Recalling a Package

You can recall a package you sent, allowing you to add, remove, or change the recipients, title, message, and other settings, and to add or remove the package contents. While the package is in the Recalled state, recipients cannot access package contents; the package displays in their inbox, marked with a Recalled flag, but recipients cannot browse or download the package.

4.  Saving a Package as a Draft

You can create a digital package and save it as a draft rather than sending it immediately. When a package is in the Draft state, you can add, remove or change recipients, title, message, and other settings, and you can add or remove package contents. When you save a package as a draft, Files immediately transfers content you include in the draft package to the relevant Aspera transfer node (causing transfer and usage statistics to increment), but does not deliver the notification to recipients until you finalize the package and send it.

5.  Package Expiration Enhancements: Discrete Policy for Draft and Recalled Packages

As a Files administrator or workspace manager, you can configure a separate, workspace-level expiration policy for Drafted or Recalled packages.

6.  Unlock Files Checked Out with Aspera Drive 

An Aspera Drive user can access files and folders in Aspera Files; if desired, the Drive user can check out a file.

When this happens, Files displays a lock icon on the file. Once a file is locked by a Drive user, Files restricts the actions that other Files users can take on that file:

  • Only the user who locked the file through Drive can delete, move, rename, or overwrite the locked file.
  • Different Files users can only download or copy the locked file.

To be lockable through Drive, the file must reside on a transfer server with node software at version 3.7.4 or higher; the node must be configured to enable file locking.

Note the following regarding unlocking locked files, and see Unlocking Locked Files for more details:

  • As a Files user, you can unlock a file in your Files workspace that you have locked using Aspera Drive.
  • As a Files administrator or manager, you can unlock locked files in any workspace you manage, as long as you have the secret to the node where the content resides.

7.  Security and Performance Enhancements for On-Prem Nodes: Node Search Service 

All customers with on-premises nodes supporting a Files organization should install or update their existing node search service. The installation package is provided as a tarball which Aspera will update as required; Aspera recommends that you check for updates every 30 days.

8.  Sharing Events Logged

Files logs now include folder sharing activities.